The Version of My Story (part 1)

I grew up in a middle class home, one where you at least didn’t lack any basic need but also underwent all kinds of struggles that added up to life. My entire childhood was a smooth sail, I don’t recall much about it though because everything seemed alright for me. 

When I got to my adolescent age, it was a hard road personally; the adjustments I had to make to ensure I stay in a group was very traumatizing and at some point I wanted to kill myself because I felt I didn’t deserve to be alive. 

I remember one time, it was a very quiet day. Nothing seemed like it was moving, dad was indoors because his debtor’s wanted payments and his business was dormant; mom had travelled to Sudan to make ends meet and we were left with my sister and toddler brother. After mid morning, dad decided he wanted some fresh air and that’s how he went without coming back until later in the night. Leaving us there without any food or money. We had to borrow some tomatoes and onions to just fry them and take with ugali (maize flour) is a staple food in Kenya – it’s basically made of maize). I was taught life the hard way and I had to learn fast. 

Years went by so fast, I completed my high school(In so much struggle) and joined college immediately. Now, in college I really didn’t care; I just wanted to do what had brought me there and go on with the cycle of my life. I didn’t have friends that I held on to just because of my attitude but I however got the points needed to continue with my next adventure or should I say adversity. 

Life got to be so real that I now understood the ignorance I had on many things in my livelihood. The finances and vacations became something I just imagined. At this point I and my family were just eating hand to mouth (this is where one’s income serves just the little it can and there’s no remainder of spending on luxuries)

Life had turned within a minute and it seemed hard with all the needs that go with college and up keep, I opted for work but that didn’t go so well with school although I thrived and was awarded to stand in for finances which just seemed ironic with the situation I was in back at home. 

It felt so heavy to have this burden and still choose to go on with life. Finally managing to finish college, I couldn’t thank God enough. It was a tough journey.

After college, the hustle for working came in and I could feel the tension at home when I got back every evening. The eyes where all on me as if going out was a say that I’ve found work. I wasn’t pressured much but you could tell that it was a thorn on their butts. 

In due time, God provided an opening door. I couldn’t have asked for a better timing than this. I still can’t fathom the far God has brought me. It’s been a long ride on this road but it’s reached the end. 

With all this said, I know God has made everything beautiful in its time.

Be encouraged. The end doesn’t always justify the means. 

Ecclesiaste 3:11

https://heartdwellingwithjesus.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/he-has-made-everything-beautiful-in-its-time.jpg

Leave a Reply

